Ever wanted to hear the Voice of the Emperor?

Well, it just so happens that I’ve started a new YouTube channel in which I will be assuming an upper British affectation (the accent that I’ve always thought was the classiest) to read “classics” that are free from copyright.

I’ve begun with the King James Bible, but don’t let that throw you – I’m still the same hedonistic Agnostic you’ve all come to know and love.  I’m reading it for its classical entertainment value, and shall be reading other public domain works that are regarded as classics as well.

If there’s something you’d like to hear me read, feel free to comment some ideas below.  For now, I plan on reading the KJB, Shakespeare, Dickens, and Oscar Wilde.  I might even throw some Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain) in there later.  Who knows?

The hope is that eventually I’ll have done so many voices online that perhaps some local (NYC) voiceover work will be thrown my way.  For now, though, it’s just something nice for my mom (and you – my readers) to enjoy.

Have a great weekend, kiddies!  ^_^

About Emperor Lu Bu

The Emperor of Xeresgate - if you wish to know more, read my words.
This entry was posted in Update, YouTube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ever wanted to hear the Voice of the Emperor?

  1. zhai2nan2 says:

    I think “voice of the emperor” is one of the racial powers in Skyrim. I was kind of hoping this would be a Skyrim post. But what the heck, maybe I’ll find your youtube channel. youtube is not my favorite site, but …

    Hmm. Your vowels sound pretty extreme. Your “r”s are clear. Your terminal consonants are clear. The texts you are reading don’t have too many tough consonant clusters. Consonant clusters are the most difficult part of English pronunciation.

    • It’s funny that you say that. Because “Voice of the Emperor” was an Imperial power in Oblivion (still the Elder Scrolls series, but not Skyrim). It rang a bell with me after I wrote it, and I looked it up and was like, “Damn – that IS a thing! Oh, well – my readers aren’t gamers like me… they wouldn’t notice.” I sit corrected.

      You sound as if you’ve also taken a class or two in proper diction. I actually love lingual plosives (If a woman whispers them, there’s nothing hotter – one of the reasons Japanese is fun to hear whispered.), and my training in European languages tends to make me roll my Rs more often than a true Brit might be inclined to do.

      I’m sure if I continued on with the KJB, there would be quite a few difficult consonant “clusters” near the genealogies (those Hebrew names). I think the next thing on that particular plate (if I get some feedback) is a reading from an Oscar Wilde play.

Leave a Reply

